What It Costs to Care for an Aging Parent (2025 Medians)
What It Costs to Care for an Aging Parent (2025 Medians)
The out-of-pocket bill most families never put in a budget — four care settings, the arithmetic behind the median year, and what Medicare, Medicaid, private insurance and the tax code each do and do not cover.
The Bill Nobody Budgets For
Start with scale, not sentiment. 63 million Americans are family caregivers — about 1 in 4 adults, and a nearly 50% increase since 2015 (AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, Caregiving in the US 2025).
The financial load lands on ordinary households. Half of caregivers report a negative financial impact from caregiving; one in four is taking on debt because of it; and one in five cannot afford basic needs like food (AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, 2025). The care itself is demanding: over 40% of caregivers provide high-intensity care, and only 22% receive training for complex tasks (AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, 2025).
The gap: no single national figure for total out-of-pocket caregiving spend was found in the sources reviewed for this guide, so this article does not publish one. What it does instead is price the four settings families actually buy, using published national medians — a paid home aide, adult day health care, an assisted living community, and a nursing home.
What Care Costs: Four Settings, Four 2025 Medians
Paid home aide (non-medical). The national median is $35 per hour, up 3% year over year from $34 (CareScout Cost of Care Survey, 2025). This is help with daily living — bathing, dressing, meals, companionship — not medical care.
Adult day health care. The national median is $95 per day in 2025, down 5% from $100 (CareScout, 2025).
Assisted living community. The national median is $6,200 per month, up 5% from $5,900 — $74,400 per year (CareScout, 2025).
Nursing home. A semi-private room runs a national median of $9,581 per month — $315 per day, or $114,975 per year — and a private room $10,798 per month, $355 per day, or $129,575 per year (CareScout, 2025).
A note on the survey basis and its limits: the CareScout figures come from 211,985 providers contacted, with about 16,000 surveys completed (CareScout, 2025). A national median is a midpoint, not a quote — costs vary by market.
One related figure worth naming: skilled nursing in the home — a private duty nurse — carries a national median of $90 per hour (CareScout, 2025). That is a different service from the $35-per-hour non-medical aide; the difference is what is being purchased (skilled nursing versus help with daily living), not a judgment about quality.
Definition: a national median is the midpoint of all surveyed rates nationally — half of providers charge less, half charge more. It is not the price you will be quoted in your town.
The Arithmetic: 44 Hours a Week at $35 an Hour
Here is the multiplication in full:
44 hours/week × 52 weeks = 2,288 hours/year; 2,288 × $35/hour = $80,080/year (CareScout, 2025).
Assumption: 44 hours a week is CareScout’s default assumption for the annualized figure — not a measurement of any particular family’s needs (CareScout, 2025).
The sensitivity is simple, because the $35/hour rate is a source figure: any change in the hours figure scales the total proportionally. As one worked comparison — arithmetic on the source rate, not a source figure — a 20-hour week looks like $35 × 20 hours × 52 weeks = $36,400 per year.
The trajectory matters too: the rate rose 3% year over year, from $34 to $35 (CareScout, 2025). This guide does not project future rates.
Side by Side: Paid Home Aide vs. Assisted Living vs. Nursing Home vs. Adult Day Care
| Setting | Source unit cost | Annual cost | Basis / assumption |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paid home aide (non-medical) | $35/hour (+3% YoY from $34) | $80,080 | 44 hrs/week × 52 weeks — CareScout default assumption |
| Adult day health care | $95/day (−5% YoY from $100) | Not stated in source | Priced per day of attendance |
| Assisted living community | $6,200/month (+5% YoY from $5,900) | $74,400 | 12 months |
| Nursing home, semi-private | $9,581/month ($315/day) | $114,975 | 12 months |
| Nursing home, private room | $10,798/month ($355/day) | $129,575 | 12 months |
Source note: all figures are national medians from CareScout’s 2025 Cost of Care Survey.
Reading the table: for adult day health care, the source publishes a daily rate only, so no annual figure is shown — the annual cost depends entirely on how many days per week a parent attends. And the table compares published medians, not the right choice for any particular parent.
What Medicare, Medigap, and Most Health Insurance Do Not Pay For
Lead with the finding in the source’s own terms: “Medicare doesn’t pay for long-term care” (Medicare.gov). Long-term care here means custodial care — personal help with bathing, dressing, toileting, home-delivered meals, adult day care, and transportation (Medicare.gov).
Definition: custodial care is non-skilled, personal help with daily activities, as Medicare defines it.
Medicare and most health insurance, including Medigap, do not pay for long-term care services; you pay all costs for non-covered services (Medicare.gov).
The home health carve-outs are specific. Medicare does not pay for 24-hour home care, for homemaker services unrelated to a care plan, or for custodial care when that is the only care needed (Medicare.gov).
The one narrow exception: Medicare Part A covers short-term skilled nursing facility care, up to 100 days in a benefit period after a qualifying hospitalization. It covers skilled care only, and cost-sharing applies (Medicare guide to choosing a nursing home).
Connect that back to the arithmetic in Section 3: the $80,080 median year of a non-medical home aide buys largely custodial help (bathing, dressing, meals), which Medicare does not pay for (Medicare.gov; CareScout, 2025).
These are coverage rules, not advice.
The Two Named Routes: Medicaid and Private Long-Term Care Insurance
Medicare.gov’s long-term care page names two routes to coverage (Medicare.gov).
Route one: Medicaid. Medicaid may cover long-term care if you meet your state’s eligibility rules (Medicare.gov). This guide does not state or estimate any income, asset, or look-back threshold, because the sources reviewed here contain none — and thresholds vary by state.
Route two: private long-term care insurance. This is the other route named by Medicare.gov (Medicare.gov).
The planning question: whether a parent’s own income and assets, a state Medicaid pathway, or an existing private policy applies is a question for that state’s Medicaid office and the policy documents themselves — not something this guide can determine. And to flag the boundary explicitly: this guide takes no position on which route a family should pursue.
The 2026 Tax Credit: Who Qualifies and Who Doesn’t
The headline terms for tax year 2026: the child and dependent care credit is worth up to 50% of qualifying expenses — up from 35% — falling to a 20% floor as income rises (IRS). The expense cap is $3,000 for one qualifying person and $6,000 for two or more, which caps the credit at $1,500 or $3,000 (IRS).
The qualifying-person test, stated exactly: a qualifying person is a dependent under 13, or a disabled spouse or dependent of any age who is incapable of self-care and lives with you more than half the year (IRS).
The correction most caregivers need: a parent who is not your dependent does not qualify for this credit. (IRS)
Two more mechanics. The care provider cannot be your dependent, your spouse, or your child under 19 (IRS; IRS Topic 602). And Form 2441 is required to claim the credit (IRS Form 2441 instructions).
This section states tax rules as the IRS publishes them; it adds no filing advice beyond that.
The Dependent Care FSA: $7,500 and the Double-Dip Rule
For 2026, the dependent care assistance exclusion — the employer dependent care FSA — rises to $7,500, or $3,750 for those married filing separately (IRS).
The rule that catches people: excluded benefits reduce the expenses you can use for the credit — you cannot claim both the FSA exclusion and the credit on the same expenses (IRS).
One caution, worded as a question rather than a claim: the sources reviewed for this guide do not establish whether an HSA can reimburse any caregiving cost, so confirm with your plan administrator before assuming an HSA applies. No HSA coverage claim is made here, and no list of eligible expenses is offered.
The Caregiver Pay Cut: Time, Wages, and the Household Budget
Seven in ten family caregivers are employed. AARP singles out the 18 million hourly-wage workers among them as facing workplace disruptions and lacking supportive benefits (AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, 2025).
Pair that with the findings from the opening section: one in four caregivers is taking on debt, and one in five cannot afford basic needs like food (AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, 2025).
The household budget has two lines: the cost of care is only one line; the caregiver’s own reduced hours or unpaid leave is another. This guide does not quantify lost wages — no figure for caregiver pay cuts or lost earnings was found in the sources reviewed, so none is published here.
There is also a cost of time beyond wages: only 22% of caregivers receive training for complex tasks (AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, 2025). That is noted here as a cost-of-time point, not clinical guidance.
Five Money Moves to Make Before the First Invoice
- Write a one-page cost estimate by setting. Use the four CareScout 2025 medians and write your own hours assumption next to the $35/hour line instead of inheriting the 44-hour default (CareScout, 2025).
- Find out what the parent’s own money can cover. Income, assets, any private long-term care policy, and whether a state Medicaid pathway is relevant — Medicaid only if the state’s eligibility rules are met (Medicare.gov).
- Run the qualifying-person test before counting on the credit. A dependent under 13, or a disabled spouse or dependent of any age incapable of self-care living with you more than half the year (IRS).
- Coordinate the FSA and the credit. Up to $7,500 excluded for 2026, but not on the same expenses as the credit; keep records for Form 2441 (IRS Form 2441 instructions).
- Budget the caregiver’s own time. With seven in ten caregivers employed, the household budget has to carry both the care bill and any reduction in the caregiver’s earnings (AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, 2025).
This is a cost-planning checklist, not financial, tax, or legal advice.
FAQ
Does Medicare pay for a home aide? No, when the help is custodial. Medicare excludes custodial care when that is the only care needed, and it does not pay for 24-hour home care or homemaker services unrelated to a care plan (Medicare.gov). Since a non-medical home aide provides custodial help by definition, that $35/hour median cost is generally out of pocket.
Why is a private duty nurse $90 an hour when a home aide is $35? Different services carry different national medians (CareScout, 2025). A home aide helps with daily living — bathing, dressing, meals — while a private duty nurse provides skilled nursing in the home. The price difference reflects what is being purchased, not a judgment about the quality of either service.
Is assisted living cheaper than a nursing home? At the 2025 national medians, assisted living is $74,400 per year, versus $114,975 for a nursing home semi-private room and $129,575 for a private room (CareScout, 2025). These are published medians, not quotes for any specific facility or market, and they describe different levels of setting and service.
Can I claim the dependent care credit for my mother? Only if she meets the qualifying-person test: a dependent under 13, or a disabled spouse or dependent of any age who is incapable of self-care and lives with you more than half the year (IRS). A parent who is not your dependent does not qualify for the credit.
What if the family can’t cover $80,080 a year? The two routes named by Medicare.gov for long-term care coverage are Medicaid, which may cover long-term care if you meet your state’s eligibility rules, and private long-term care insurance (Medicare.gov). Which route applies to a specific family depends on the parent’s finances and state rules.
Is there a national number for what caregiving costs families out of pocket? No such figure was found in the sources reviewed for this guide, so this article does not publish one. What it prices instead are the four settings families buy, using published national medians (CareScout, 2025).
The Bottom Line
At CareScout’s 2025 national medians, a year of non-medical home care at the survey’s default 44 hours a week is $80,080, assisted living is $74,400, and a semi-private nursing home room is $114,975 — and Medicare does not pay for long-term care (CareScout, 2025; Medicare.gov).
The planning consequence: the financing question belongs before the first invoice, and the two routes named by Medicare.gov are Medicaid (subject to state eligibility rules) and private long-term care insurance (Medicare.gov).
The tax consequence: the 2026 credit is real but narrow — $1,500 or $3,000 at most, and only for a qualifying person (IRS).
This guide prices settings rather than totaling the bill, because no national out-of-pocket caregiving figure was found in the sources reviewed.
How This Guide Was Built
This guide is desk research only. We did not run products, test anything hands-on, visit facilities, interview providers, or collect original data, and no clinical review was performed.
Sources named: AARP and National Alliance for Caregiving, Caregiving in the US 2025 (also at the National Alliance for Caregiving); CareScout, Cost of Care Survey (2025 fielding); Medicare.gov’s long-term care and home health services coverage pages, plus Medicare’s nursing home coverage and the Medicare guide to choosing a nursing home; and IRS child and dependent care credit guidance, the Form 2441 instructions, and Topic 602.
Method note: cost figures are national medians as published; the 44 hours/week figure is the survey’s annualization assumption, stated as such throughout; and no total out-of-pocket estimate is published because none was found in the sources.
Scope note: cost lens only. No clinical advice, no treatment recommendations, no provider quality judgments.